Follow by Email


In history of Indian freedom struggle, one needs to first look into the events that led to the need for struggle in the first place. And this dates back to the time the Europeans laid foot on Indian shores. The British came to India to make her a colony.
From 1757, they won almost every battle against the Indian rulers. They sent back to England a lot of the nation's wealth. This was leading to immense anger amongst patriots.
In 1757 the British defeat Siraj-ud-Daulah at the battle of Plassey.
In 1760 the British defeat the French at the battle of Wandiwash.
In 1764 the British defeat Mir Kasim at the battle Buxar.
In 1765 the British bring the Diwani Rights into Bengal, Orissa and Bihar.
In 1767-1769 the British enter into a humiliating peace pact with the ruler of Mysore – Hyder Ali.
In 1772 Warren Hastings is appointed to the post Governor of Bengal.
In 1773 the British Parliament passes the Regulating Act.
In 1774 Warren Hastings is made the Governor-General.
In 1775 they defeat the king of Mysore – Hyder Ali.
In 1784 the Pitts India Act is introduced.
In 1799 the British defeat Tipu Sultan
In 1803-1805 the British defeat the Marathas.
From 1817 to 1819 the Maratha rule is completely crushed by the British.
In 1831 the east India Company takes overpowers the Raja of Mysore.
In 1833 the Company's trading rights is abolished.
In 1848 lord Dalhousie appointed to the post of Governor-General.
Finally after 100 years later, in 1857 a number of Indians rose up and revolted. This angry outburst that has never before or after been witnessed by India became an important chapter in history books.
March 29, 1857 is considered is the day when Mangal Pandey reaped the seed for a struggle which gave India its first freedom struggle.
In 1857 the Sepoy Mutiny, which was the first battle for Indian Independence.
This has been termed as 'The Revolt of 1857′, 'Sepoy Movement' and the 'First War of Independence'.
In 1858 the Indian Government is taken over by the British Crown.
In 1861 introduction of the Indian Councils Act, Indian High Courts Act and the Penal Code.
In 1877 the Queen of England is introduced as Empress of India.
In 1885 the first formal meeting of the Indian National congress was held.
In 1899 lord Curzon is appointed as Governor-General, as well as Viceroy.
In 1906 the Muslim League was formed for the seperate representatives of muslims and congress makes the declaration for Swaraj.
In 1908 the Newspaper Paper Act was introduced.
In 1912 the capital of the imperial was shifted from Calcutta to Delhi.
In 1919 massacre at Jalianwalla Bagh happen where in a peaceful public gathering General O Dwyer Opened fire and killed hubndreds of innocent men, women and children.
In 1921 Mahatma Gandhi takes over leadership of Congress; beginning of the Non-co-operation Movement.
In 1922 the Civil Disobedience Movement was launched
In 1923 the salt tax is certified.
1927 : The Simon Commission was appointed and in 1928 the Simon Commission arrives in India and is boycotted all the Indian parties.
On March 23, 1931 Bhagat Singh threw a fake bomb in the Central Legislative Assembly to ignite the feeling of patritism in every single india. On April 18, 1929 without any proper hearing he was sentenced to death.
In 1929 : Lord Irwin promises to provide Dominion status for the nation; the National flag of India is hoisted by Jawaharlal Nehru in Lahore.
In 1930 Salt Satygraha, which took the form of the Dandi March began.
In 1931 the pact between Irwin and Gandhi; as well as the Second Round Table Conference. In 1932 the third Round Table Conference commenced.
In 1935 introduction of the Government of India Act launched.
In 1942 congress brings to the fore Quit India resolution.
On October 21, 1943, Subash Chandra Bose declared the formation of Azad Hind Government and hosted the Indian National Flag in Kohima, Assam on March 18, 1944.
In 3rd June 1947 Lord Mountbatten announces his plan for partition of India. Although he was not aware of the geography of the india, the britishers wanted to divide india as sooner as possible to strethen their future appearce in the subcontinent.
In 15th August India got its hard earned Independence but unfortunately due to the gridiness of the politicians and britishers it was divided as India and Pakistan.
Pt. Jawaherlala Nehru Became the first prime minister of india , in pakistan Mohammed Ali Jinnah Decorated as the founder of Pakistan.


Post a Comment

please leave your opinion about his blog ,
this will help us to give some more quality information.

Write 4 namesake-expert

Thank you for your interest in being part of the namesake-expert writing community.
namesake-expert publishes original news content, opinion pieces, trending topics and breaking stories in the area of technology, entertainment, business, politics, lifestyle, videos,sports, lifestyle and women’s issues. Articles must be written in English, published first on namesake-expert and will be reviewed by the “seasoned” namesake-expert Team.
If you are interested revert back to

side l


images in posts are not related to the content .
it pasted to relate the content or to describe the message of post.
if any photo of any person in post hurting any sentiment it can be removed busted. pls complain it to this Email -->